23india-sub-master768
I didn’t read the article when I chose it, but this photo interested me for multiple reasons. Firstly, I’ve always found Indian culture fascinating, and secondly…Say Yes to the Dress! The classic TLC show is one of my favourites, and I remember several episodes where an Indian bride came into the store looking for her gown. In India, red and gold is worn, and Kleinfeld (the store in the show) only has ONE red wedding gown available from designer Pnina Tornai. I’m very used to seeing this dress because every Indian bride is given it to try on for her wedding. I remember the parents and siblings and friends who come with the bride explaining that Indian weddings are always really big and glamorous and that the bride REALLY has to be the centerpiece and stand out. I never thought much about it…I figured many cultures make a huge deal of wedding ceremonies, especially because Americans are compelled to do this too.

The photographer, Daniel Berehulak, has a website so I traveled there first. He has his photography separated by country so I visited his other work from India. He has this amazing and stunning photo series from a mining camp in India…showing the women working with the smoke and carrying baskets of rock and coal on their heads all while wearing the lovely brightly colored Sari of tradition. Really intriguing work. I’m also surprised to learn that Mr. Berehulak who is now based in New Delhi is actually from Ukranian descent but was born and raised in Sydney Australia. Right out the womb a worldly man. In reading his bio there was mention of the “prestigious John Faber award” which I am unfamiliar with. I assume it is a really important photography award so I went ahead and researched this.

I learned on opcofamerica.com that the Oversees Press Club awards the John Faber credit for the best photographic reporting from abroad in newspapers or other news services. There’s an open application on the website for this award, so I can only imagine the amount of applicants and the difficulty of standing out, much less winning! I wanted to see what photojournalism report won the 2016 award so I hit the archives.

…so there is no 2016 recipient. The John Faber award isn’t given out yearly after all. I could assume that this makes winning it EVEN HARDER, because you dont just have a years worth of others’ photojournalism to compete with, but several years. I did find the last project to win, in 2013. Photographer Jerome Delay won his award for depicting the central African public unrest politically and economically and religiously. They only show one picture from this report so I went to fine Mr. Delay’s website.

I couldn’t find a website for this photographer so I instead visited a Times article displaying his work on a conflict in Mali which sounded similar to what he won his John Faber award for. It is intriguing work but not really my style of photography.

For this entry I am proud of myself for traveling so far away from the original theme of Lavish Indian Weddings.

